Belarussian Part of the Euroregion Puszcza Białowieska
On both sides of the border lies the Białowieża Forest - an ancient forest with a unique in the scale of the country and the world of values, which is the backwoods of bison and many other rare species of animals and plants. This is one of the few cross-border protected areas of this type: on the Polish side - the Białowieża National Park, and on the Belarussian side - the Belovezskaya puscha National Park. It is an area recognized by UNESCO as a Polish-Belarusian cross-border object of the World Heritage of Humanity. In the two countries, two parks and one forest - the Bialowieza Transborder Trail was marked out. A visit to our eastern neighbors will not disappoint anyone. The beauty of architectural monuments, monumental temples, untouched nature and hospitality at Dziadek Mroz are just some of the acacias waiting on the trail. To cross the Polish-Belarusian border you must have a passport, insurance and visa authorizing you to enter the Republic of Belarus. When organizing a trip, it is worth using the services of professional travel agencies specializing in organizing trips to Belarus.Feel the fascinating climate at the border.
National Park "Puszcza Białowieska"
THE NATIONAL PARK NATIONAL "Bieławieżskaja Pushha" is located in the west of the Republic of Belarus, within the borders of the following voivodeships: Grodno and Brest, occupying 87.36 thousand. ha. The park's administrative center is located in the village of Kamieniuki (Kamieński area), 60 km from Brest.
About 20 km from the Bialowieza Forest is the city of Kamieniec, founded in the 13th century by prince Włodzimierz Wołyński, which is dominated by a defensive tower (White Tower) and from it, perhaps the name Puszcza Białowieska is derived.
There are no natural lakes in the forest area. Among the ten artificial reservoirs, the largest ones were created in the Perewica river floodplain (Ladskie lake - 345 ha, Chmielewskie - 75 ha), where a large number of wild waterfowl lives.
Forest flora consists of 900 species of vascular plants. Bialowieza Forest is distinguished by the presence of fragments of virgin forests. Mainly (more than half) are perennial tree stands (100-200 years), which developed and developed in relatively natural conditions. There are fragments of the forest at the age of 250-350 years, single trees aged 300-600 have been preserved.
Fauna of the forest has over 10,000 species. The park is inhabited by 59 species of mammals, including the largest representative of modern European fauna - bison. In the Białowieża Primeval Forest and its surroundings, 227 species of birds, 11 species of amphibians and 7 species of reptiles were counted. There are 24 species of fish in water reservoirs. The Bialowieza Forest is also rich fauna of invertebrates (about 8500 species).
During the Soviet occupation of the Bialowieza Forest (1939-1941), in December 1939, the "Biełowieżskaja Puszcza" was announced, and thus at least the protected area in theory. But this protection consisted of, among others on planking timber, mainly for the needs of the army. In total, in the period from September 1939 to June 1941 1.5 million cubic meters of wood were cut out in the Forest. The nature of the reserve was resumed in October 1944, but only in the eastern Russian part. In 1957, the reserve is transformed into a protective and hunting farm. Since 1991, the Białowieża Primeval Forest has become a national park. In 1992, it is included in the list of World Heritage of Humanity. In 1993, the park received the international status of the Biosphere Reserve. In order to preserve the biological diversity of the Białowieża Primeval Forest, the whole area was divided into four zones with various protection systems: a protection zone - a zone of untouched nature; regulated use zone; recreation zone, economic zone.
Around the park, the so-called protection zone. The National Park "Puszcza Białowieska" is a huge natural-scientific laboratory, attracting scientists from many countries. In the area of the national park visitors can see the traces of the man of the early Mesolithic period, burial mounds, the complex "Wiskuli", the court of count Tyszkiewicz, as well as the ancient White Tower and monuments of architecture. There is a natural museum in the Park, in which exhibits of most of the animals inhabiting the forest and the plants growing on the territory of the forest are shown, as well as open aviaries with animals. Tourists are offered hiking, horse riding and car tourist trails. In the vicinity there is an art studio and a studio for animal preparation,
Bicycle routes in the Belorussian part of the Euroregion Puszcza Białowieska
COURSE OF THE ROUTE: state border between Poland and Belarus - National Park "Bialowieza Forest" - Kamienieki - Dmitrowicze - Kamieniec - Wysokie - Wołczyn - HremiaczePuszcza Białowieska is one of the most valuable natural objects in Europe, protected in Belarus as the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska ". In 1992, by UNESCO, the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska" was included in the list of World Heritage of Humanity. It was the first facility in the territory of the former USSR, which received such an important distinction. In 1993, UNESCO granted the Belarusian part of the Bialowieza Forest the status of Biosphere Reserve, incorporating it into a unified system of observing global changes in nature. At the end of 1997, the Council of Europe honored the National Park "
The Bialowieza Forest owes its immense value to the unique flora and fauna. To this day, this forest has preserved its natural character on a large surface. There are rare relict plant communities here. It is the oldest forest on the European continent. Over 1000 trees - giants have been recorded in it. There are 600-year-old oaks, 350-year-old ashes and pines, 250-year-old firs, over 1000 species of vascular plants. It is the only place in Belarus, where populations of such rare and protected species have been preserved, such as fir and sessile oak.
The rich and diverse vegetation of the Bialowieza Forest creates favorable living conditions for numerous species of animals, many of which are under legal protection and are in the "Red Book" of Belarus. At present, there are 54 species of mammals, 252 species of birds, 7 species of reptiles and 11 species of amphibians in the Belarusian part of the Białowieża Forest. Of course, the most famous and distinguished among the animal world of the Forest is its ruler - the bison. It attracts guests from all over the world. Currently, more than 300 representatives of this species live in the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska".
Driving from the state border towards Kamieniukwe can admire the natural wealth of the Bialowieza Forest. The route leads along Lake Ladskoje, as well as through areas destroyed during a hurricane in 2002. At the park's headquarters in Kamieniuki, we can visit the Natural History Museum, and in the aviaries, see large mammals inhabiting the Bialowieza Forest. In the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska" you can stay longer and get to know the guided tours, other attractions, including: the fairy tale residence of Belarusian Grandfather Mroz, see beaver lodges, 600-year-old tsar's car, 350-year-old giant pine 'bison head' birch, Europe's only evergreen climber - European ivy. You can also visit the "Wiskule" complex, where in 1991.
Kamieniec - a town of approx. 9 thousand residents, the seat of the Kamieniecki District authorities. The most valuable monument is the Kamieniecka Tower, called the White Tower - a monument of defensive architecture from the end of the 13th century, about 30 m high. It is situated on a high hill on the bank of the Leśna river. At present, the seat of the branch of the Regional Touring Museum in Brest is located here.
Other monuments: Orthodox church of St. Szymon (20th century), the church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul (20th century), a monument to the founder of the city - Volhynia prince Włodzimierz Wasilkowicz, monument in honor of Soviet soldiers and partisans who died at the hands of Nazi invaders during the liberation of the Kamieniecki District.
Wojska (Wojskaja)- there is one of the oldest Orthodox churches in the area - the church of the Nativity of Bogurodzica (1751-1775).
Rasna Nowa (Nowaja Riasna) - there is a recently built, richly decorated Orthodox church of St. Michał (1996-1997), as well as the Bread Museum.
Wysokie (Wysokoje) - in the historic park there are the ruins of the Sapieha castle from the 17th century, as well as the Palace Complex erected in the classicist style in the former Sapieha and Potocki estate (first half of the 19th century). A valuable historical monument is the church of the Holy Trinity (erected in 1603, rebuilt after a fire in 1735, then rebuilt in 1872); chapel of St. Barbara (1772), former monastery of the Brothers of Bonifratri (1785), Orthodox church of the Assumption of the Cross (1869).
Wołczyn- this small village was once a center of enormous goods, successively belonging to eminent magnate families: Gosiewscy, Poniatowskie and Czartoryski. There is a late-baroque church of the Holy Trinity (1733) - the only reminder of the former glory of Wołczyn, the place of baptism and rest of the last Polish king Stanisław August Poniatowski (in the 90s of the twentieth century, the remains were buried in the Cathedral of St. John in Warsaw) ; Orthodox church of St. Nicholas (second half of the nineteenth century), monuments in honor of soldiers and partisans from the Second World War.
Hremmiacze (Gremiacza)- well-preserved architectural and park complex of the Puzynów family - one of the most beautiful noble residences in the area of Brest. The team includes a late-classical mansion on the hill, on the Pulwa River; in front of it grow two powerful larches, surrounded by a five-hectare park.
Next you can go in the direction of Jackowicz , through Motykały Duże (Bolieszje Motykały), Wistycze to the road Brest - Kamieniec, which runs the trail "Na spotkanie z Puszcza Białowieską". GREEN TRAIL
COURSE OF ROUTE: state border between Poland and Belarus - National Park "Puszcza Białowieska" - Cichowola - Żarkowszczyzna - Dobrowola - Romanowce - Stoki - Swisłocz - Manczica (Wierdamicze) - Wielikoje Sieło (Świętnica) - Porozowo - Nowy Dwór. The trail leads through the northern part of the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska", through numerous wetlands and crosses the rivers: Narewka, Hwoźna and Narew. Leaving the Park, we pass the charming villages of the villages of Cichowola, Browsk full of charm .
Żarkowszczyzna - there is a manor house of Count Wincent Tyszkiewicz integrated into the surrounding nature.
In Dobrowola, you can see a wooden Orthodox church dedicated to the Dormition of the Holy Mother of God (nineteenth century).
Romanowce - a beautiful lake located in the middle of the forest massif (1000 m from the trail).
Slopes - a regional tourist base, a place to relax.
Svisloch- a historical town known since the mid-13th century, when, apart from the duchies of: Grodno, Nowogrodzki, and Wołkowyki, there existed a separate Swislock duchy. A special place in the history of Svislach is the first half of In the 19th century, when Count Wincenty Tyszkiewicz ruled it. He rebuilt the city, created a market square in the center of the town, where famous fairs were held. Here, merchants from 6 countries and over 60 cities in Russia and Europe rode. The Tyszkiewicz theater and the zoological garden were operating in Swisłoczy, in which animals living in the Bialowieza Forest were exhibited. Slave Swisłoczy was brought by the gymnasium, founded in 1806 by Count Wincenty Tyszkiewicz. His graduates are such important people in the history, science and literature of Poland as: Konstanty Kalinowski, Romuald Traugutt - leaders of the January Uprising (1863-1864); Józef Kowalewski - creator of knowledge about Mongolia, author of the Mongolian-Russian-French dictionary and many linguistic, historical and literary studies; Napoleon Orda - cartoonist, musician; Józef Kraszewski - writer, publicist, historian. The gymnasium building has been preserved until today and together with other buildings is the hospital headquarters.
At the entrance to the city from afar you can see a powerful monument "Hero" in honor of residents of the land of Swisłock, killed in the fight against the Nazi invaders during World War II. The route leads through the city park, founded in the nineteenth century, a monument of garden art. In Svislach we can see the avenue of monuments: a mass grave of soldiers-liberators; busts of: Konstanty Kalinowski, Romuald Traugutt, and Joseph Stalin. It is worth visiting the Museum of History and Local Lore.
Wierdamicze - Wierdamicki Park was founded by count Julian Tołoczka in the second half. XIX century. It is a landscape park (over 12 ha) with the status of a natural monument.
Świętnica - a place of rest by the lake, there is an Orthodox church there. St. Paraskiewy (1815).
Porozowo- entering the town, we can see the palace and park complex in the former estate of Bogudzięki from the 19th century to 1939. ownership of the Buttowt-Andrzeykowicz family. This object is located in the "Register of historical and cultural heritage of the Republic of Belarus". In addition, in Porozów there are: the church of St. Michał Archanioł from the nineteenth century, combining traditional style with classicism, the church of St. Trinity from 1872
BICYCLE TRAILERS IN THE NATIONAL PARK OF BIAŁOWIEKA For visitors of the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska", bicycle routes have been prepared (for guided tours), with a length of 10 km, 25 km, 27 km, 45 km. The National Park "Puszcza Białowieska" offers tourists hotel and catering services, as well as bike rentals, carriages, sauna, billiards, etc.
BICYCLE TRAIL FOR INDIVIDUAL TOURISTS WITH A LENGTH OF 25 KM. It
is prepared for tourists who visit the Park in Kamieniuki. The route of the trail partially overlaps with the Białowieża Trans-border Trail. Wandering along this trail includes visiting the following Park objects: Museum of Natural History in Kamieniec - aviary with animals - Oak-Car - the seat of the Belarusian Grandfather Frost - monument to the victims of the war - Tsar Trakt - Ladskoje lake.
A tour around the fairy tale seat of the Belarusian Grandfather Mroz, located on an area of 15 ha, takes about an hour. Meeting with Grandfather Mroz in the Bialowieza Forest is possible throughout the year. In winter, Grandfather Mróz meets the guests together with his granddaughter, Śnieżynka. Visiting the headquarters leaves unforgettable impressions for both children and adults. There you can see carved compositions illustrating various fairy tales, figures symbolizing particular months, dwarfs, various animals. You can also say wishes here, which will help Grandfather Mróz help.
Nobody is indifferent towards the 40-meter New Year's tree, sculptures, richly decorated house of Dziadek Mroz, Śnieżynka, Skarbnica, where drawings, letters, children's works sent to Grandfather Frost are kept, as well as some objects of a rural farm.
The letters from various parts of the world come to the address of Dziadek Mróz in Białowieża Forest. The letter can be sent to the following address: 225063 Brzeski District, Kamieniecki District, Kamieniuki, to Dziadek Mroz.
Information: Visiting the Headquarters of the Belarusian Grandfather Frost, the Museum of Nature, watching wild animals placed in aviaries is payable.
BICYCLE ROUTE FOR ORGANIZED GROUPS WITH A LENGTH OF 25 KM A
trail prepared for tourists coming to the National Park through the international border crossing Białowieża - Piererow, to get to know the National Park during a one-day cycling trip.
Groups of tourists from 6 to 15 people.
The route leads: border crossing Bialowieza - Piererow - Ladskaje lake - Oak Car - Residence of the Belarusian grandfather Mroz - a monument to the victims of the war - Tsar Trakt - border crossing Bialowieza - Piererow
CYCLING ROAD FOR INDIVIDUAL TOURISTS WITH A LENGTH OF 10 KM
The trail is prepared for tourists coming to the National Park who want to rent bicycles and buy a bicycle trip at the ticket office of the Nature Museum.
Trip duration up to 2 hours.
The trail allows you to admire the Białowieża Forest, view among others growth on the tree in the shape of a bison's head, 400-year-old oak with a slit in the trunk.
Bialowieza Transborder Trail (Poland - Belarus)
Trail on Polish territory (yellow, 58 km) ROUTE: Narew - Tyniewicze Duże - Kamień - Kuraszewo - Nowy Kornin - Nowe Berezowo (Nowoberezowo) - Hajnówka - Budy - Teremiski - Stara Białowieża - Białowieża - Grudki - state border between Poland and Belarus .
Białowieża Transborder Trailspins the Bialowieza Forest on both sides of the border. This is a unique route - it combines the beauty of nature, historical monuments and the multicultural character of the region, which is reminded by the close proximity of Orthodox and Catholic temples and the unique architecture of wooden houses. On the Polish side, the trail leads through old, charming towns set against the background of the Bialowieza Forest. The route goes through the Hajnówka poviat (Republic of Poland) and the Pruzhany region (Republic of Belarus); The "Polish" section ends at the Białoweża -Piererow border crossing. The Bialowieza Transborder Trail is over 200 km of adventure (58 km in the Polish part, 146 km in Belarus) enabling to get to know nature, unique culture and inhabitants. Idyllic landscapes - landscape fields,
Narew is a village with a spatial arrangement from the 16th century, with a preserved market square in the center (currently it is a square-squares). Narew was a town from 1514 (zygmunt Stary gave city rights) until 1934. Narew was a well-known harbor port of river navigation on the important trade route from Vilnius and Grodno to Bielsk Podlaski and Brest, and further to Lublin and Krakow.
The main monuments of the Narew River include the wooden Roman Catholic church of St. Stanisława bp. and the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary from 1775 is today one of the most valuable monuments of the wooden sacred architecture of the region; Orthodox wooden church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross from the 19th century and a brick Roman Catholic cemetery chapel dedicated to Saint. Wincentego built in 1840-1848. In the first half of the 20th century, Jews inhabited Narew. Today, the only reminder of them is the Jewish cemetery nearby. An interesting place is the Village Museum located at 8 Dąbrowskiego Street. The owner of the museum, Marian Święcki, gathers in it various old tools and objects once entered into the life of the village. The collections contain both old tools used in the past on farms,
Narew - Lewkowo Stare - Narewka - Budy starts its route in Narew, which is an alternative route of the Białowieża Cross-border Route, as well as the green cycling route "To the Land of Open Shutters". There is also a yellow walking route marked here, called the "Trail of Orthodox Temples". There is a red bicycle trail through Narew - the Podlasie Stork Trail.
Kuraszewo is a village founded in the 16th century. There is an Orthodox wooden parish church dedicated to Saint. Antoni Pieczerski, erected in 1868 as a cemetery church. Near the village (in a place called by the local population "Zamczysko"), on the river Łoknicą we can see traces of the archaeological cemetery from X-XII century AD and burial mounds from IV-V century AD
Before the village, at the intersection begins the blue trail Kuraszewo - Lady - Klejniki - Doratynka.
Nowe Berezowo (also known as Nowoberezowo)it is shrouded in the village of orthodox churches. There are two Orthodox temples here - wooden from the 18th century, St. John the Theologian, fenced with a stone wall (inside there are interesting wall paintings); right next - bricked from 1873, the Ascension of the Lord. There are also two Orthodox chapels in the village: brick, St. Alexander Nevsky (1868) and wooden, St. George (1888). At the end of the village there is a cast-iron cross. It was set in remembrance of the crossing of Tsar Nicholas II heading for Bialowieza. Next to the currently used cemetery is an old historic cemetery with numerous gravestones. Another attraction of New Berezov is the "Stefan Farm" open-air museum, where old everyday objects were collected in two old Podlasie huts. The owner runs an agritourism lodging, and ostrich is raised on the farm. In Nowe Berezów, the connecting route marked with the black color Nowe Berezowo - Czyże - Lady begins. Through the village runs the red cycling trail Hajnówka - Dubicze Cerkiewne - Czeremcha - Piaski.
In the city of Hajnówka along the route of the route you can see the Saint. Trinity - one of the most modern Orthodox churches in Poland. The temple was designed by prof. Aleksandra Grygorowicz. It has 2 floors, 7 altars, catechetical rooms. The whole is topped with two towers with characteristic domes that resemble a burning candle. The interior of the Council is covered with rich polychromes. This church can hold a single 5,000. people. Every year in May music concerts take place here as part of the Hajnówka Days of Orthodox Music. Near the route, on the square in the city center, there is a bison statue. It is a bronze cast, life-size silhouette of the "king of the forest". On the main street of the city (3rd May) there are:
• Museum and Cultural Center of Belarus - where you can see exhibitions on the culture of the Belarusian minority, as well as exhibitions of works by local artists.
• Tourist Center of the Bialowieza Forest Region - tourist information (also in the kiosk), sale of maps, publications, souvenirs.
• Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross and Saint. Stanisław, bishop, in it a high class, 28 voice organs from the Schlag und Schohne studio, made at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. This is the only instrument of its kind in north-eastern Poland. Every year, during the summer, Hajnowskie Meetings with Chamber and Organ Music take place.
• Museum of Blacksmiths and Locksmiths, where you can see an exhibition of blacksmith tools and products, as well as (after prior telephone consultation) blacksmith art exhibitions.
- • In Hajnówka there is the Miniature Monuments Park Podlasie, the Water Park, and also the Nordic Walking Park "Land of the Forest and the Bison" take their start.
- • In Hajnówka, by the square at ul.A. Zina begins the following trails: the blue cycling trail Hajnówka - Topiło - Hajnówka, the red cycling trail Hajnówka - Dubicze Cerkiewne - Czeremcha - Piaski, the green hiking trail Hajnówka - Białowieża, the blue hiking trail Hajnówka - Orzeszkowo - Hajnówka and the red hiking trail Hajnówka - Narewka. The section of the bicycle route from Hajnówka to Nowy Berezowa (Nowoberezowo) coincides with the yellow hiking trail "The Orthodox Temples Trail".
- • Narrow-gauge railway - at the beginning of the 1990s, the Hajnówka Forest District opened a historic narrow-gauge railway for tourist and educational trips.It is particularly attractive to travel to the mid-forest settlement of Topiło, where there is an artificial reservoir. It was once used for storing timber. The reservoir is divided by a dyke, through which the narrow-gauge railway track runs. Around the reservoir leads the educational path "Puszczańskie Drzewo". In Topile there is a mini-open-air museum of the forest railway, and at the aqua-place, sheds and a focal place and the "Last Grosz" inn. Not far away is also the beautiful ecumenical chapel and obelisk dedicated to foresters and their families murdered by the Soviet and Nazi occupiers - in the camps and camps in 1939-1945.
- • On the roads, in the village or in front of the village, there are votive crosses and chapels.They were often set up by local residents. These small architectural forms are usually wooden and set on the road, at road intersections, in places of apparitions or other events important for the local community. They are to protect residents against various diseases.
- • Krynoczka - near the trail, in the area of Hajnówka there is a wooden Orthodox church of St. St. Brothers of the Maccabees from 1848. and a chapel with a miraculous spring, known as "Krynoczka". This place is located in the "Miednoje" heritage (quarter of 330) on the Miedna river. For Orthodox believers, this is a sacred place for miraculous healings. It is the goal of annual pilgrimages for the Holy Feast. Trinity. As centuries ago, now, pilgrims visiting Krynoczka, a handkerchief moistened in her water, rub the diseased place, and then leave it on the fence behind the well, thus symbolically getting rid of the disease. Devotions in the temple are celebrated several times a year during the holidays celebrated according to the Julian calendar.
- • "Dębowy Grąd" nature reserve - established to protect a natural part of the Białowieża Forest with the species richness of trees (with the majority of oak and ash), shrubs and vascular plants. The reserve has more than 30 trees that are monuments of nature. The section of about 0.5 km is the common route of the Białowieża Cross-border Route with the red hiking trail Hajnówka - Narewka.
- • Nature Reserve "Natural Forests of the Bialowieza Forest" - the largest of the reserves in the Bialowieza Forest, composed of several areas, protects forest ecosystems of the Białowieża Forest and the natural processes taking place in them. There are over 100 years old tree stands.
Budy is a former mid-forest settlement of builders. There is a hunting
lodge "U Kolarza", guest house, tavern and open-air ethnographic museum "Sioło Budy." The open-air museum was built in the convention of a farmstead with wooden Podlasie houses, including an original peasant hut from 1836, surrounded by a willow fence. also a granary, a barn, a well with a crane and rivers for hay.
Teremiskiis a former settlement of builders. The first mentions of it come from the eighteenth century. It houses the Universal University. JJ Lipski founded by Jacek Kuroń, financed by the Foundation "Social Assistance SOS" and the Educational Foundation Jacek Kuroń. A well-known journalist Adam Wajrak has been living in Teremiski for several years. bud, was founded in the wilderness by Masuria. They were brought in during the times of Stanisław August Poniatowski from Mazovia. The builders were free people. They lived in the forest and from the forest. They dealt with the logging of the forest and the processing of wood into ashes, potash, tar and charcoal, necessary in the then economy. Potash, or potassium carbonate, was obtained from wood ash, used for the production of glass and soap. Four building settlements have survived to this day - Budy, Teremiski, Pogorzelce and Masiewo.
Stara Białowieża is a place that is considered to be the nucleus of today's Białowieża. There is an educational path "Trail of the Royal Oaks and the Grand Dukes of Lithuania". We wander among the ancient oaks, named by the originators of the path of Ewa and Jaóro Wysmułków, names of the rulers of Poland and Lithuania associated with the Forest. With each oak there is a tablet with information about the tree itself and its "patron". Not far from the "Royal Oaks Trail and the Grand Dukes of Lithuania" there are focal places and shelters. In the vicinity of Stara Białowieża, the Podlasie Stork Trail runs. It leads to Narewka, Narew and further - to the Narew and Biebrza National Parks. European Bison Show Reserve- the object of the Białowieża National Park. Presented are animals living in the Forest. Visitors can see European bison, Polish tarpan horses, bison 's crossbreeds with domestic cattle. żubronie, deer, deer, elk, wild and wolves. In front of the entrance there are stalls with souvenirs and parking.
Władysław Szafer Landscape Reserve - the reserve is located on both sides of the Hajnówka - Białowieża road and includes a strip of forest from 700 to 1000 m wide. It presents to tourists the most important communities in the Białowieża Forest, mainly oak-hornbeam and mixed coniferous forest. One can admire here trees reaching considerable sizes: English oak, Norway spruce, Scots pine, European hornbeam. The reserve was founded in 1921. It is named after the well-known Polish activist of nature protection and botanist - Władysław Szafer (1896-1970).
Bialowieza- a tourist village that is the heart of the Bialowieza Forest. The trail runs here along Krzyże street and then right onto Grudkowska street. Driving straight on ul. Olga Gabiec we get to the center of the village. In Białowieża, you can go hiking in the strict protection area of the Bialowieza National Park (the most valuable natural part of the Park and the entire Bialowieza Forest, sightseeing is possible only with a licensed guide). Worth seeing are the main monuments of Białowieża: the Palace Park with the remains of the building of the Tsar's hunting palace, the Orthodox Church of St. Mikołaj Cudotwórcy (built in the years from 1894-95) with a unique china iconostas - the only such a monument in Poland, the Roman Catholic church of St. Teresa of Baby Jesus from 1935, Park Dyrekcyjny, a complex of buildings of the Białowieża Towarowa railway station (currently there is a "Carska" restaurant). It is also worth taking a walk through the streets of Waszkiewicza and Tropinka - many old wooden buildings have been preserved there. It is necessary to visit the Natural-Forest Museum of the Białowieża National Park, currently the most modern nature museum in Poland. Next to the trail there is a boulder designing the geometric center of the Bialowieza Forest. In Białowieża it is also worth visiting the Open-air Museum of Wooden Architecture of the Ruska Podlasie, where folk architecture from the foreground of the Forest can be seen: wooden windmills, old huts and a chapel as well as barn and logs. The open-air museum is located on the road leading towards the village of Pogorzelce. It is also worth taking a walk through the streets of Waszkiewicza and Tropinka - many old wooden buildings have been preserved there. It is necessary to visit the Natural-Forest Museum of the Białowieża National Park, currently the most modern nature museum in Poland. Next to the trail there is a boulder designing the geometric center of the Bialowieza Forest. In Białowieża it is also worth visiting the Open-air Museum of Wooden Architecture of the Ruska Podlasie, where folk architecture from the foreground of the Forest can be seen: wooden windmills, old huts and a chapel as well as barn and logs. The open-air museum is located on the road leading towards the village of Pogorzelce. It is also worth taking a walk through the streets of Waszkiewicza and Tropinka - many old wooden buildings have been preserved there. It is necessary to visit the Natural-Forest Museum of the Białowieża National Park, currently the most modern nature museum in Poland. Next to the trail there is a boulder designing the geometric center of the Bialowieza Forest. In Białowieża it is also worth visiting the Open-air Museum of Wooden Architecture of the Ruska Podlasie, where folk architecture from the foreground of the Forest can be seen: wooden windmills, old huts and a chapel as well as barn and logs. The open-air museum is located on the road leading towards the village of Pogorzelce. Next to the trail there is a boulder designing the geometric center of the Bialowieza Forest. In Białowieża it is also worth visiting the Open-air Museum of Wooden Architecture of the Ruska Podlasie, where folk architecture from the foreground of the Forest can be seen: wooden windmills, old huts and a chapel as well as barn and logs. The open-air museum is located on the road leading towards the village of Pogorzelce. Next to the trail there is a boulder designing the geometric center of the Bialowieza Forest. In Białowieża it is also worth visiting the Open-air Museum of Wooden Architecture of the Ruska Podlasie, where folk architecture from the foreground of the Forest can be seen: wooden windmills, old huts and a chapel as well as barn and logs. The open-air museum is located on the road leading towards the village of Pogorzelce.
On ul. Krzyże Białowieski The Cross-border Trail connects with the green cycling trail Białowieża - Dubicze Cerkiewne and with walking routes: the green trail Hajnówka - Białowieża and the yellow Białowieża - Topiło.
Grudki is a settlement of forest workers, founded at the sawmill during World War I. There is a camping site here.
In the vicinity of the route, it is worth seeing:
• Forest Education Center "Jagiellońskie" - it is run by the Białowieża Forest Inspectorate.Natural exhibitions, art and photography exhibitions on nature are organized here. Old tools used in forestry works and souvenirs related to the forester's profession are exhibited. The center conducts classes.
• Educational trail "Puszczańskie Drzew" - leads through oak-hornbeam forests with magnificent oaks, limes, ash trees and pines, from Białowieża, through Władysław Szafer's landscape reserve to the European Bison Landscape Reserve Reserve of the Białowieża National Park. The path is 4 km long.
• Zwierzyniec - a hunting settlement founded at the end of the 19th century in a place where previously (about the eighteenth century) there was a game garden, or garden for hunting. In the 19th century, the tseroom was built here. The bison's monument located here is not a faithful copy of the historic Zwierzyniec iron monument, funded by Tsar Alexander II in memory of his hunt in 1860. The original, which Igor Newerly wrote about in the book "Was left of the feast of the gods", is now in Spała, where it was exported in the 1920s. The replica of the bison statue was erected in 2004, in which the 75th anniversary of the restitution (ie renewal of the species) of the bison in the Bialowieza Forest was celebrated. It is made of hardened plastic. Zwierzyniec is located halfway between Hajnówka and Białowieża.
The trail on the territory of the Republic of Belarus (yellow, 146.5 km)
COURSE ROUTE: state border between Poland and Belarus - the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska" - Biały Lasek - Szereszewo - Prużany - Różany - Łyskowo - Nowy Dwór. The route leads through a fragment of the former so-called "the royal road", also later called the tsarist highway (Bielsk Podlaski - Białowieża - Szereszewo - Prużany - Różany), in the opening in which Mikołaj II and his wife Aleksandra Fiodorowna took part in 1903. On the way you can admire the original bridges with balustrades from the tsarist times. In 2005, tsarist coats of arms were reconstructed and placed on them: a two-headed eagle - a symbol of the Romanov dynasty. In the village of Biały Lasek there is one of the gates to the National Park "Puszcza Białowieska".
Szereszewo - this settlement is located on the outskirts of the Białowieża Forest, on the Leśna Lewa River. The first historical mentions of Szereszewo date back to 1380. In 1536, the private rights of Sąszewo were sold to Queen Bona. Szereszewo obtained city status. There has been a significant development of crafts and trade. Its residents maintained commercial relations with Gdańsk, Elbląg and other Polish cities and German Frankfurt. During the wars from the mid-seventeenth century to the beginning of the 18th century, the city was destroyed many times. The most valuable architectural monuments in Szereszewo are: a wooden belfry from 1799, a late classicist church of the Holy Trinity from 1848, a brick Orthodox church of St. Nicholas from 1872, a historic cemetery and a wooden cemetery church of St. Peter and Paul from 1824.
Prużany - about 20 thousand residents. A city at the confluence of two rivers: Mucha and Wiec, the administrative and industrial center of the Prużański District. In the city it is worth seeing architectural monuments:
• "White Ławki" (Pruzańskie cloth hall) - built in 1896, a historic building of national significance, bearing the characteristics of Baroque and Classicism, an interesting example of monumental bourgeois architecture Currently, shopping center
• Alexander Nevsky Cathedral - monument of late classicism, built of brick in 1866., can accommodate 700 people, has the shape of the ship is an important part of a council tower - bell tower, which was 9 bells. the council is a miraculous icon of the Virgin Mary.
• A park and palace complex with the Prużański Museum - "Prużański Pałacyk" - built in the first half of In the 19th century, the complex includes a brick building, to which a wide avenue leads from the city side; two outbuildings and a landscape park. A monument of park and palace neo-Renaissance architecture. In the Pruzhany Museum you can see the interiors of the manor from the 19th century: a salon, orangery, and a hunting room.
• Church of the Ascension of the Virgin Mary - the construction of the temple began in 1857, a monument of neoclassical architecture.
Priests was born in Israel - Izaak Shamir. Staying longer in Prużany, we can go on a journey along the "Moja Pryjanska" trail, which is a good opportunity to get to know the history of the Prużanski district.The course of the trail: Prużany - Poddubno - Gorodeczno - Szakuny - Szeni - Prużany.
In the village of Gorodeczno there is a chapel built in the years 1912-1914, as a proof of the memory of soldiers of the Russian army who fell in battle with the Napoleonic army in 1812 near the villages of Gorodeczno and Poddubno. The battle site is a stone on which was painted a battle plan in 1812.
City Szakuny is linked to the national artist of Belarus - Grzegorz Szyrma, while a museum of his work is in Pruzhany School of Music.
Szeni - is the home town of the Belarusian poet Mikołaj Zasima.
In the villages of Gorodeczno, Szakuny and Prużany there are many monuments commemorating soldiers and partisans who died during World War II.
The Bialowieza Transborder Trail on the route: Prużany - Bajki - Różany - Szejpicze - Zelzin - Ososzczniki - Łyskowo coincides with the previously marked trail "Architectural Pearls of the Prużańska Land".
Różany - the first historical records about the settlement date back to 1552; in the years 1598-1831, the settlement was owned by the Sapieha family and experienced its greatest prosperity. The main architectural jewel of the settlement was the Sapieha Palace. Fragments of ruins have survived to this day. They still impress with size. Other objects funded by Sapieha are: St. Trinity (1617), the Baroque Basilian monastery built in 1784-1788 and the church of St. Peter and Paul built in 1762-1778 as Uniate, converted in the nineteenth century to the Orthodox. In Różanach there is an antique synagogue from the second half. Nineteenth century.
Next to the settlement, there is the natural Lake Papiernia. It is very picturesque and the water is extremely clean. It is a place of rest for the inhabitants of Prużany. The children's health resort is open all year round.
Szejpicze - the home town of opera tenor Michał Zabiejda-Sumicki.
Zelzin - there is an Orthodox church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross from 1878.
Ososzczniki - by the road Oksszczniki - Mogilowce we can see 6 mounds from the eleventh century
Łyskowo - there is the Orthodox church of the Nativity of the Holy Mother of God; Baroque monastery of missionaries from the 18th-19th centuries and the church of Saint. Trinity; and the tombstone of the Polish poet and playwright Franciszek Karpinski from 1825. From Lyskow we go further to Nowy Dwór, where the Bialowieza Transborder Trail connects with the green trail that leads north to Porozów, and to the south near Szereszewo joins the yellow trail.